58th International Theater Festival MESS officially closed, Awards awarded

Tonight at Club 1, the jury composed from dramaturge, theater critic, and artistic curator from Poland, Tomasz Kirenczuk, dramaturge, translator, and scriptwriter from Slovakia, Peter Kovač, and director Lajla Kaikčija, announced the laureates of the 58th International Theater Festival MESS.

Grand Prix — “Golden Laurel Wreath Award for best performance”

“Sylphidarium-Maria Taglioni on the Ground”, Collettivo Cinetico, Italy

Golden Laurel Wreath Award for best director

Alessandro Serra for performance “Macbettu”, Compagnia Teatropersona

Golden Laurel Wreath Award for best acting performance

Enkidu Khaled for role in performance “Baghdad”

“Rejhan Demirdžić Award” for best young actor/actress

Adrijan Pezdirc for performance in play “That Which is Missing”

Special Regards from the jury were received by the team and ensemble of performers of play “Welcome” by director Nermin Hamzagić, as well as the ensemble of actors of performance “Cezary Goes to War” by Polish director Cezary Tomaszewski.

The MESS Festival Office awarded two awards.

The “Marko Kovačević Award” for work in the area of theater critique, publishing, and theater studies

Asja Krsmanović for her critical reviews from the 2018 MESS Festival.

Deciding on the award for best performance at Mini MESS were children by their votes, and this year’s winner is performance “Pipe”, with a grade average of 10,00. The audience award for best performance of the 58th MESS Festival was won by play “Welcome”, with a grade average of 9,62.

Beside the awards from the jury and the MESS Festival Office, also announced at the award ceremony were winners awarded by the media sponsors of MESS Festival:

  • Oslobođenje – The Golden Mask – “Macbettu”, Alessandro Serra, Compagnia Teatropersona
  • Magazine “Dani” – Brave New World – “Butterfly-Exercise of Birth”, Andraš Urban, Royal Theater Zetski Dom.
  • Radio Sarajevo – Sound of MESS – “Butterfly-Exercise of Birth”, Andraš Urban, Royal Theater Zetski Dom. For the first time, the jury of Radio Sarajevo had a special mention, and it goes to the performance “Welcome“, by Nermin Hamzagić.

The “Luka Pavlović” award was won by performance “Macbettu” by director Alessandro Serra, upon the decision from a team of theater critics composed from Bojana Vidosavljević, Asja Krsmanović, Dario Bevanda, Edin Salčinović, Stela Mišković, and Dino Pešut.

In the past eight festival days, the audience had a chance to see 23 performances from 17 countries and from four different continents, along with the participation of 500 artists, as part of the main programme.

Leave a Comment