BiH defending Paralympic Gold in Sitting Volleyball in Rio

sjedeca odbojkaThe national team of BiH in sitting volleyball is tomorrow finishing the second stage of preparations for the Paralympic Games which will be held from September 7 until September 18 in Rio de Janeiro.

BiH sitting volleyball national team, led by the coach Mirza Hrustemović, will complete the final stage of preparations from August 26 until September 2 also in Međugorje, as the previous preparations. In Rio de Janeiro, they will defend the title won four years ago in London. Captain of the most decorated BiH national team Sabahudin Delalić says that a difficult task awaits the BiH national team in Rio, but that he and his teammates will again give their maximum to accomplish the goal – performing in the finals.

“This time it will be exceptionally difficult to defend the gold. National teams of Iran, Russia and China are expecting us already in the first qualification round, but we will again give our best. We are preparing very well; we have taken these preparations very seriously. We know that every other medal except the golden one is a failure when it comes to us,” said Delalić.

Delalić sees the most dangerous competition in the national team of Iran, against whom BiH played four last Paralympic finals. He also sees threat in national teams of Russia, Brazil and Germany. At the Paralympic tournament the BiH national team will play in the group B with the teams of Iran, Russia and China, while in the group A are Germany, Egypt, Brazil and the USA. The Paralympic tournament begins on September 9.

In their previous performances at the Paralympic games, BiH volleyball players won golden medals in Athens in 2004 and in London in 2012, as well as silver medals in Sydney in 2000 and in Beijing in 2008. National team players who are going to Rio this year are Adnan Kešmer, Mirzet Duran, Sabahudin Delalić (captain), Armin Šehić, Benis Kadrić, Ismet Godinjak, Adnan Manko, Asim Medić, Nizam Čančar, Dževad Hamzić, Safet Alibašić, Ermin Jusufović, national coach Mirza Hrustemović and coaches Ejub Mehmedović and Zikret Mahmutović.


Leave a Comment