Inauguration Ceremony for New Members of BiH Presidency officially held

Members of the Presidency of Bosnia and Herzegovina in the upcoming term today have officially taken over their duties, Milorad Dodik from the Serb people, Željko Komšić from the ranks of the Croat people and Šefik Džaferović from the Bosniak people.

The constituent session of the BiH Presidency, which began with the anthem of BiH, was opened by Bakir Izetbegović, the chairman of the previous convocation, who thanked his colleagues Mladen Ivanić and Dragan Čović for the good cooperation they had in the past four years.

After Izetbegović’s address, the President of the Central Election Commission of BiH, Branko Petrić, presented the newly elected members of the Presidency with the certificates on the takeover of the mandate, who then read and signed a solemn declaration, which reads: “I hereby swear that I will perform my duties conscientiously, respect the Constitution of Bosnia and Herzegovina, implement the General Framework Agreement for Peace and its annexes in its entirety, protect and promote human rights and fundamental freedoms, and protect the interests and equality of all peoples and citizens of Bosnia and Herzegovina.”

Former members of the BiH Presidency Bakir Izetbegović and Mladen Ivanić congratulated the newly elected members of the collective head of state.

Dragan Čović, a member of the Presidency from the previous convocation, did not attend the ceremony.

Milorad Dodik will be the Chairman of the Presidency in the upcoming period.

Individual members of the Presidency of BiH, hold the duty of the Chairman of the Presidency for eight months according to the principle of rotation, Federal News Agency reports.

Leave a Comment