Do you know how Yugoslav Dinar collapsed?

dinarDinar was the currency that was used in the Kingdom of SHS from 1920, and later in the Kingdom of Yugoslavia, socialist Yugoslavia, and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. The names of the states changed, but the dinar did not, and it gained cult status. The dinar stopped to be “Yugoslav” when Serbia replaced it with Serbian dinar (RSD), and Montenegro with EUR, years after the former Yugoslavia collapsed.

After Tito’s death and “awakening” of the ideology of Great Serbia, everything in the former Yugoslavia went downhill, and dinar experienced inflation. It was decided to replace the existing series of money with the new, more modern ones.

In 1985 was released a new series of banknotes, which was started with the introduction of 5,000 dinars with the image of the late Yugoslav President Josip Broz Tito.

Considering the hyperinflation, there was a need for banknotes with higher denominations, and after the collapse of Yugoslavia, the dinar was less and less used.

In 1992, Croatia replaced it with the Croatian dinar, and in the area that was under the control of Serbian Krajina was used Krajina dinar. They introduced the Croatian kuna (HRK) in 1994.

In 1993, Macedonia introduced the Macedonian denar (MKD).

In 1994, BiH introduced BH dinar, and in the parts under the control of the RS was used the dinar of the RS. The convertible mark (BAM) was introduced in 1998.

In 1995, Montenegro replaced it with the Deutsche Mark (DM) and later EUR in 2002.

In 1997, Serbia replaced it with the Serbian dinar (RSD).

(Source: faktor.ba)

Leave a Comment