Taekwondo – European Champion Armin Gredic

competitonThe selection of the University of Sarajevo ended its participation on the 4th European Universities Taekwondo Championship in Opatija, by achieving another big success for B&H. Armin Gredic won the world title at the biggest parade of students in Europe in the category up to 87 kg, and Ivan Solic won bronze in the category over 87 kg, as announced from the Taekwondo Club of Novi Grad Sarajevo.

After qualifying battles, Armin Gredic defeated the representatives of Austria in the quarter-finals, in the semifinal fight he defeated representative of Germany and in the finals, by the decision of the judges, and after additional 4th round, he won against the Belarusian participant. Armin Gredic, the student of Health Studies in Sarajevo, is a member of the club Novi Grad from Sarajevo.

In the regular part of the competition, after the first victory against the representative of Cyprus, Ivan Solic was defeated by the participant from Austria in the second fight. In the repechage after, he defeated the representative of Germany, but he was stopped by the representatives of Portugal, so he was left on the very solid 3rd position of the European University Championships. Ivan Solic is a student of the Faculty of Sport and Physical Education in Sarajevo, and he is a member of taekwondo club Fortezza from Korcula.

Another member of the team Alen Cukurija lost his first fights on the regular part of the competition as well as in the repechage by the representatives of Belarus and Slovakia, and unfortunately remained without placement. Alen Cukurija performed in the category up to 74 kg, and he is student of the Faculty of Sport and Physical Education in Sarajevo, and a member of the club Novi Grad from Sarajevo as well.

European University Championship was held from the 10th – 14th of November in Opatija, and the competition was an excellent introduction of taekwondo performances to the European University Games which is scheduled for next year in Zagreb and Rijeka.

Competitors were led by coaches Ante Segedin and Belmir Berberovic.


Leave a Comment