A Delegation from the Congress of CoE carries an Election Observation

A Delegation from the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will carry out an election observation mission to Bosnia and Herzegovina from 4 to 8 October 2018, to observe, specifically, the elections of the ten Cantonal Assemblies in the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the vote in the Brčko District scheduled for 7 October 2018, as a part of the general elections organised on this day in the whole country.

Prior to the Election Day, the Congress Delegation, headed by Stewart DICKSON (United Kingdom, ILDG), Thematic Spokesperson on observation of local and regional elections, will attend meetings with various interlocutors, including the Central Election Commission, representatives of political parties and candidates running in the elections, as well as representatives of the media and civil society.

The Delegation will participate in special briefings on the Cantonal elections with Dr. Suad ARNAUTOVIC, member of the Central Election Commission, with the Congress Independent Expert on the European Charter of Local Self-Government, Prof. Jens WOELK, and will also attend joint general preparatory briefings with the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and with OSCE/ODIHR.

On the Election Day, nine Congress teams will monitor the electoral procedures in selected polling stations in all Cantons of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and in the Brčko District.

Congress Delegation is made of Mr. Stewart DICKSON, United Kingdom (GILDG), Head of Delegation/Rapporteur, Congress Spokesperson on the Observation of Local and Regional Elections, Ms Aldis HAFSTEINSDOTTIR, Iceland (ECR), Deputy Head of Delegation/Co-Rapporteur, Ms Henrietta BERO, Hungary (EPP-CCE), Mr Robert BIEDRON, Poland (SOC), Ms Violetta CRUDU, Republic of Moldova (EPP-CCE), Mr Josef FREY, Germany (SOC), Ms Daniela GIANNONI, San Marino (NI), Mr Robert GRUMAN, Romania (EPP-CCE), Ms Nino KAVTARADZE, Georgia (EPP-CCE), Mr Jani KOKKO, Finland (SOC), Mr Jean-Pierre LIOUVILLE, France (SOC), Mr Luc MARTENS, Belgium (EPP-CCE), Ms Randi MONDORF, Denmark (ILDG), Ms Rosaleen O’GRADY, Ireland (ILDG), Mr Vladimir PREBILIC, Slovenia (SOC) and Ms Christina BINDER, Congress Expert on observation of local and regional elections.

Leave a Comment